The European Commission has decided to single out the most used and successful IT solutions and services in the public sector through the new EC Sharing and Reuse Awards to promote the visibility of such solutions and to encourage their reuse.

In public administrations across Europe, countless IT solutions and services are in place that could often easily be reused by other public administrations. Reuse of successful existing software would stop continuous reinvention of the wheel and could help to save time and costs for users and administrations alike and increase interoperability between systems.

Competition conditions

Winners will receive EUR 15 000 and EUR 10 000 in prize money respectively for IT solutions and services that meet the criteria in one of the four categories:

  • cross-border administrations
  • national administrations
  • regional administrations
  • local administrations

Contenders that would like to participate in the competition for the ‘Sharing & Reuse Award’ can register their project. The competition is open until 28 October 2016 and the prizes will be announced in March 2017.

The ISA² programme of the European Commission promotes the modernisation of public administrations through more than 20 solutions that foster interoperability, sharing and reuse.

Who can participate?

Only solutions developed by or for public administrations will qualify for the Sharing & Reuse Awards. If the solution has been developed by a private entity on behalf of a public administration, the reward will go to the public administration concerned.

The jury of the competition will include staff members working for the European Council, the European Commission and for the European Parliament.

For further information

Read more about the competition